5 Ayurvedic Medicines For PCOS | PCOD- Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome & Disease

Posted on Updated on


PCOS is a leading cause for obesity, menstrual irregularity, sub-fertility and infertility in women across the world. Persistent acne, hair loss, unwanted facial hair and dark pigmentation of skin especially around the neck i.e. acanthosis nigricans, add to the woes of women with PCOS.Guduchi

Underlying insulin resistance, high level of male hormone testosterone i.e. Hyperandrogenism; imbalance of LH- Luteinizing hormone and FSH- follicle stimulating hormone, make PCOS a very complex metabolic disorder.

Ayurvedic treatment has a holistic approach towards management of PCOS. Each patient is given a unique therapy based on her specific health needs due to PCOS, rather than a one-size-fits-all approach. Such personalized approach helps in re-balancing the hormones naturally. Ayurvedic therapy focuses on balancing tissue nutrition, rectifying the imbalance of dosha-bio-energies that govern the body and boosting metabolism. Ayurvedic therapies also help in gradual and wholesome weight loss, reduce hair, facial hair growth and reduces acne.

Thus, Ayurvedic therapy not only helps in controlling PCOS; it also helps in restoring health and well-being.

The main aim of Ayurvedic therapy in women with PCOS are:

  • Detoxification of body
  • Strengthening and revitalizing the female reproductive system and regularizing menstrual cycles.
  • Rectifying hormonal imbalance

Five common Ayurvedic medicines that help in the management of PCOS:

  1. Shatavari (Asparagus racemosus)

Shatavari helps in promoting normal development of ovarian follicles, regulates menstrual cycle and revitalizes the female reproductive system. Shatavari also helps in combating the hyperinsulinemia- i.e. high levels of insulin, mainly due to its phytoestrogen (natural plant based estrogen).1

  1. Guduchi (Tinospora Cordifolia)

Guduchi is a powerful anti- inflammatory herb. Chronic inflammation in tissues is the root cause for insulin imbalance and ovarian cysts. Guduchi helps in revitalizing all the body tissues and boosts metabolism naturally. It also helps in lowering insulin resistance.

  1. Shatapushpa (Foeniculum vulgare)

Fennel seeds also known as shatapushpa in Sanskrit are a good supplement for PCOS. They are rich source of phytoestrogens. Phytoestrogens in fennel, helps in reducing insulin resistance and in bringing down the inflammation in PCOS. Phytoestrogens are also believed to help reduce the cellular imbalance which leads to metabolic disturbances in PCOS.2

  1. Triphala

A mixture of three fruits- Amalaki (Emblica officinalis), Haritaki (Terminalia chebula) and Bibhitaki (Terminalia bellerica) blended in it; Triphala is one of the most popular Ayurvedic classical formulations! It is a rich source of vitamin C- a powerful natural antioxidant that helps in reducing inflammation by scavenging free radicals. Triphala helps in cleansing and detoxifying your system and hence is best taken prior to taking any other Ayurvedic medicines.

  1. Aloe Vera- Kumari (Aloe barbadensis)

Aloe vera is yet another Ayurvedic herb that is extremely beneficial in treating PCOS. It helps in regularizing the menstrual cycles, promotes normal mestruation and normalizes ovarian hormonal imbalance.3

Note :  The prescription of the above medications should be administered by a trained Ayurvedic doctor.  The above recommendations should not be taken without proper consultation from a Ayurvedic doctor. My experience has been that – proper diet , lifestyle , yoga combined with Ayurveda  has very high chances of managing the condition. 

For consultations on PCOS and other women’s health condition, please refer to my services section. 

References:

  1. Hannan, J. M. A., et al. “Antihyperglycaemic activity of Asparagus racemosus roots is partly mediated by inhibition of carbohydrate digestion and absorption, and enhancement of cellular insulin action.” British Journal of Nutrition 107.09 (2012): 1316-1323
  2. Jungbauer, Alois, and Svjetlana Medjakovic. “Phytoestrogens and the metabolic syndrome.” The Journal of steroid biochemistry and molecular biology 139 (2014): 277-289
  3. Maharjan, Radha, Padamnabhi S. Nagar, and Laxmipriya Nampoothiri. “Effect of Aloe barbadensis Mill. formulation on Letrozole induced polycystic ovarian syndrome rat model.” Journal of Ayurveda and integrative medicine 1.4 (2010): 273.

84 thoughts on “5 Ayurvedic Medicines For PCOS | PCOD- Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome & Disease

    Maneesha Sujith said:
    September 13, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    i want these medicines…whats the cost….can get via courier or home delivery ?

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      September 16, 2014 at 12:34 pm

      hi Maneesha ,

      You can contact your local ayurveda medical store or you can email me on samantChetali@gmail.com or call on +91-9482689840.

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

      shaila said:
      September 3, 2015 at 11:03 pm

      how many cost

      shaila said:
      September 3, 2015 at 11:04 pm

      I want this medicine pl tell cost

      Deepavora said:
      March 16, 2017 at 7:30 pm

      Hello mam can u please help me fr my pcod from past 5 yes I am not getting

        Dr. Chetali Samant responded:
        March 17, 2017 at 2:21 pm

        Dear Deepa, I have emailed you the details. Regards- Dr. Samant

      Deepavora said:
      March 16, 2017 at 7:31 pm

      Please 9003273513

    Sarita said:
    October 14, 2014 at 7:05 am

    Can u specify the measurement of the herbs u specified above and how to take them? I have PCOS and i don’t want to take any allopathic hormonal medicine .

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      October 17, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Hi Sarita

      These are general guidelines and specific medical prescription should be taken after proper examination of the condition and its nature. Hence would recommend you to visit a doctor and take a prescription.

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    Memoona said:
    January 12, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    How I can get your five medicine treatment for pcos…kindly inform me…

    Memoona said:
    January 12, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    Kindly reply me….thanks….

    Memoona said:
    January 12, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    I want to know about five medicine for pcos..please reply me how can get these medicines…..

      Memoona said:
      January 12, 2015 at 10:12 pm

      Waiting fot reply…

        Dr. Chetali responded:
        January 26, 2015 at 4:04 pm

        Hi Memoona,
        Incase you are not able to procure them locally, you can mail me at samantChetali@gmail.com to get these sourced.

        Regards
        Dr. Chetali Samant

    sanjeeda khan said:
    February 2, 2015 at 2:48 am

    Aslkm iam sanjeeda
    Ye avurvedic treatment medically treatment per le sakte kiya

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      February 3, 2015 at 12:20 am

      Hi Sanjeeda,

      Valekum salaam !

      These are general guidelines and specific medical prescription should be taken after proper examination of the condition and its nature. Hence would recommend you to visit a Ayurvedic doctor and take a prescription.

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    jay111 said:
    February 7, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    while using allopathi can us ayurvedic also, im getting severe acne and unwanted hair, if i stop taking medicine in one day ill get severe acne and unwanted hair, but when i started allopathi im getting very lean, weak & join pains, kindly suggest me how to get rid this pcos, till now i dint get any irregular periods..

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      February 7, 2015 at 10:46 pm

      Hi Jay,

      These are general guidelines and specific medical prescription should be taken after proper examination of the condition and its nature. Hence would recommend you to visit a Ayurvedic doctor and take a prescription.

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant
      +91-9482689840

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      February 14, 2015 at 11:30 pm

      you can reach me on my contact details for consultation. There are lot of factors to be analyzed before any medical advice is given.

    jay111 said:
    February 7, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    waiting for reply…….

    deepti said:
    February 17, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    I’m suffering from pcod…..I don’t get my periods….I just 34 yrs…..what should I do…. which medicine I should take… please suggest …. which medicine is good for me….

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      February 18, 2015 at 12:56 pm

      You can reach me on my contact details for consultation.

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 12:44 am

      Hi Deepti,

      you can reach me on my contact details (91-9900076470 or samantChetali@gmail.com) for consultation. There are lot of factors to be analyzed before any medical advice is given.

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    Ranjit Kaur said:
    March 8, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    Dear mam,
    I am 27 year old and I have irregular periods since puberty. Please let me know how to confirm that I am suffering from pcos. What test I have to undergo. I will be thankful for your advice

      Ranjit Kaur said:
      March 8, 2015 at 8:01 pm

      Dear mam,
      I am 27 year old and I have irregular periods since puberty. Please let me know how to confirm that I am suffering from pcos. What test I have to undergo. I will be thankful for your advice

        Dr. Chetali responded:
        March 21, 2015 at 4:58 pm

        Dear Ranjit,
        Please email me your case history on my email id : samantChetali@gmail.com and we can take it from there.

        In case you are in Bangalore, you can visit me at my Clinic in Malleshwaram (9th Cross).

        Regards
        Dr. Chetali Samant

    Revathy said:
    March 20, 2015 at 1:56 am

    Hai mam
    I am 20 year old i have conformed that i have pcod but this allopathic treatment make me so weak and i am unable to concentrate on studies too.I am so nervous about this disease since i have all problems of pcod like a lot of facial hair which make me feel like an alien creature .what to do with this ?

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      March 20, 2015 at 5:15 pm

      hi Revathy,
      Understand your condition – most of my patients have mentioned the same to me.

      Please email me your case history on my email id : samantChetali@gmail.com and we can take it from there.

      In case you are in Bangalore, you can visit me at my Clinic in Malleshwaram (9th Cross).

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    salma said:
    March 25, 2015 at 6:49 am

    hi, I am 30 years old. after child birth my pcos symptoms started showing. I was never over Weight before but I had facial hair and heavy thighs and bottom inspite of being active. After child birth I have not been able to lose weight at all. from 65 kg to 90 kg ub just 3 years. am ob glucophage tablets now. Nothing is helping. I want to start ayurvedic treatment as soon as possible. Please advice. how long will the treatment take. are there massages or only medicine.

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      March 27, 2015 at 12:09 am

      hi Salma,
      Understand your condition – most of my patients have mentioned the same to me.

      Please email me your case history on my email id : samantChetali@gmail.com and we can take it from there.

      In case you are in Bangalore, you can visit me at my Clinic in Malleshwaram (9th Cross).

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    wren said:
    March 26, 2015 at 1:41 am

    thank you for this. i have pcos and i have been wondering what ayurveda has done in relation to it. many blessings XO

    R.sangeetha said:
    April 20, 2015 at 12:01 am

    Hi mam I’m 21 years old I have pcos problem.I was never over weight before but i had facial hair and heavy thighs. I have not been able to lose weight at all .alopathic treatment are making me so weak and its doesn’t working what can i do for this pcos problem plz tellme mam plz …

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      April 20, 2015 at 9:02 pm

      hi Sangeetha,

      Please email me your case history on my email id : samantChetali@gmail.com and we can take it from there.

      In case you are in Bangalore, you can visit me at my Clinic in Malleshwaram (9th Cross Margosa Road).

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    R.sangeetha said:
    April 21, 2015 at 12:22 am

    K mam thank you so much ….

    Sruthy Anand said:
    April 22, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    How long does it take for complete cure? I am going to consult an ayurveda doctor soon.

    Neelam said:
    April 29, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    Hello Doctor,
    I m taking pregnancy treatment but coz of pcos my overy size r increse but not rupture on date. pls. help me to solve this problem.

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      April 29, 2015 at 10:55 pm

      Dear Neelam,

      Please email me your case history on my email id : samantChetali@gmail.com and we can take it from there.

      In case you are in Bangalore, you can visit me at my Clinic in Malleshwaram (9th Cross Margosa Road). Call +91-80-2346-9205

      Regards
      Dr. Chetali Samant

    Dr. Chetali responded:
    May 2, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    For Online Consultation please follow the procedure listed in this link
    https://curaayurveda.wordpress.com/online-consultation-procedure/

    […] Medications: Many Ayurvedic herbs have individual effects on PCOD. However, Ayurvedic therapy involves use of compound Ayurvedic […]

    DrGanesh Male said:
    May 15, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    Good evening
    Madam my wife suffering from PCOS.We married five yr before
    All hormonal level r normal in last year.leprpcopic drilling done in last year
    I had consulted to one of my friend for BASTI. BASTI karma done for 1. Days,still we r hope less….
    Plz help us

    Ayurwoman said:
    May 21, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    Basti karma and utharabasti for 3 consecutive cycles
    would be helpful

    P sa said:
    June 25, 2015 at 12:14 am

    Hii Dr. Chetali Samant, my wife’s period is e-regular from last 3 years. Gino doctor said her left ovaries is dry.and she is not get pregnant.can you help me ?

    Taj naajina fathima said:
    June 27, 2015 at 8:40 am

    Aslam iam from kakinada andhra pradesh iam pcod pationt from 5 yers .pls help me

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      July 4, 2015 at 2:59 pm

      Wa-Alaikum-as-Salaam Fathima , please book your appointment as be the online consultation link on this site or you can email your details to samantChetali@gmail.com

    Bhavana said:
    August 2, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    Greetings Dr.Chetali
    I am Bhavana and I m 15 right now.My periods are irregular and I am not getting my monthly dates for more than 2 months.Please advice

    sashmi said:
    August 4, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    hello Dr!! I’m 26 yrs old girl.I have pco problem, I hv done ultrasound nd testosterone hormone test.. my hormone level is 118, n cholesterol 240.my dr said due to hormonal imbalance I’m suffering scanty periods, painful acne,hair fall,fat on belly area..bt Mdcn is nt working..by taking contraceptive my quantity of bleeding becoming even more low..and my acne symptoms is more frustrating me..plz plz reply!! it can cure or I’ll suffer it for pcos??? plz help.. :,( :,(

    sashmi said:
    August 4, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    plz help me..

    Asha said:
    October 9, 2015 at 9:39 pm

    Hi,

    May I know the address details of your clinic to pay a visit?

    Thanks!

      Dr. Chetali responded:
      October 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm

      Dear Asha

      Clinic address and Timing as below. Call to book appointment to avoid waiting for long.

      AYURVEDALAYA,
      9th Cross Road,
      Malleshwaram, Bengaluru -560055, Karnataka
      91-80 2346 9205
      Mon-Sat : 5-8pm

      Regards
      Dr.Chetali Samant

    Sushree said:
    October 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Hi . Mam . Im 20yr girl and am unmarried. . I have Polycycstic ovary since 6yr ….. Can i use 5medicine …. It is good for me or not ? Suggest….

    harman said:
    October 30, 2015 at 11:26 am

    I am suffering from over production of testosterone level (118). I have face hair growth. Doctor advised pill for whole life. I want to get rid of pills. suggest natural/ayurvedic/homoeopathic treatment. I shall be thankful

    prerana said:
    November 1, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    My mc is stoped befor 4 year .I take many treatment but now I have face the problems of side effects.

    saptadipa ghosh said:
    November 22, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    Hello mam…
    Sorry but I HV no choice that’s why text u…
    I HV PCOS problem…. Irregular periods(one month off).proffesionaly m player,,married for 10 yrs..
    Hvnt tried for conceiving yet…
    No pills nothing I have taken,we control…..
    Now u can help me virtually by ayurvedic process…
    Plzz mam….

    saptadipa ghosh said:
    November 22, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    Hello mam…
    Sorry but I HV no choice that’s why text u…
    I HV PCOS problem…by profession m player,,,,,.married for 10 yrs..
    Hvnt tried for conceiving yet…
    No pills nothing I have taken,we control…..
    Now u can help me virtually by ayurvedic process…
    Plzz mam help me out

    Archita verma said:
    December 9, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    I havnt had my periods without hormones since 4 years. it gave me many side effects. thanks to your pcos kit which has made my periods regular. I am having 4 days periods every month without any medicines

    Malathi said:
    January 20, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    Shall I take Aloevera juice which is a product of Pathanjali. It may help in recover from PCODs

    […] 5 Ayurvedic Medicines For PCOS | PCOD- … – 21.04.2014  · hi, I am 30 years old. after child birth my pcos symptoms started showing. I was never over Weight before but I had facial hair and heavy thighs … […]

    neha said:
    June 26, 2016 at 2:15 pm

    Hi… I want these medicine and want to contact u for my problem of pcod. ..

    Lalita goli said:
    June 28, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    Hi m not able to get pregnant coz I have pcod, thyroid,overian cyst n utribe fibroid.
    Plz help me with correct medicine N help me get pregnant. It’s been 6 years of my marriage n my n my husband’s age is 28 yrs

    […] is lot to take in and process when it comes to diet tips, exercise routines, super foods, Ayurvedic medicines and many more. Getting organized with your approach to your PCOS management is crucial for success! […]

    Bhoomika said:
    November 1, 2016 at 4:26 am

    Mam I’m sufeering from pcos since from long I hv severe acne problem and scanty periods… Plz reply me with medicine…

      Dr. Chetali Samant responded:
      November 2, 2016 at 12:13 am

      Dear Bhoomika,

      Would need more detailed consultation to prescribe any medicine.
      Please consider fixing an appointment – details here :

    Nnn said:
    November 4, 2016 at 11:49 pm

    I am suffering from pcos. I am 24 yrs old. Doc gave me menohelp syrup. Does this syurp help me??
    Plz reply

    […] milestones, from first period to menopause. Shatavari encourages the healthy development of ovarian follicles and regulates the menstrual cycle by controlling blood loss. It can also increase fertility […]

    Shruti said:
    July 3, 2017 at 12:11 am

    Hello Dr. Chetali,
    My name is Shruti. I have been recently diagnosed with PCOD as I was trying to conceive. I want to take ayurvedic medicines for my tratment. Can you help me out please. I cannot describe to extent of depression I have right now.
    Regards

    Sunnya Sharma Sharma said:
    October 28, 2017 at 10:20 pm

    Hello Doctor …..I hv irregular periods since u got my first ever periods . I have paid pcos since then please suggest me Dr how long shatavari must i take because i have been taking it Dr 1 month only and i got my periods after i guess 25 days since m having d’s medicine so i guess it’s working on my body….Thanx please suggest me further…Sunnya Sharma.

    Rajeshwari said:
    October 30, 2017 at 7:17 pm

    Dr, I am raji 27 I have pcod in my puberty irregular period so pls help me

    Dr. Chetali Samant responded:
    November 1, 2017 at 9:31 pm

    Dear Raji
    Please consider fixing an appointment for detailed discussion– details https://curaayurveda.wordpress.com/online-consultation-procedure/ :

    or you can email us the details on samantChetali@gmail.com

    Regards
    Dr. Chetali Samant

Leave a Reply

